The Dying Art of a Thank You

As times have changed so has the way we thank others, every now and then I’m reminded of this. Sometimes I feel ashamed for not sending them out quickly, or find an excuse to put it off. I’m always amazed at how few thank you’s some of my friends send out, so maybe deep down I feel it’s ok to put it off or not send one at all. I think it’s time to take a deeper look at when and how thank you’s should be sent out.

The most common are thanking people for gifts. You’ll find these types of thank you’s come from a wedding, baby/wedding shower, Christmas or birthdays. I find if you’re sending the thank you to an older person a personalized note snail-mailed is best, but if there younger often times sending them an electronic thank you is ok. It might also depend on the person, if your un-sure try thanking them on Facebook/Twitter or via email and also sending a snail-mail thank you.

You might be wondering when you should be sending them out. In the past I’ve always (at least tried) to send out a thank you to anyone who wasn’t there in person to give the gift. The more I think about it, I think it’s a good idea to try and thank everyone. It shows you care and are grateful and thoughtful.

When you send a thank you for a gift, include a note about how nice it was to see them if they were there. This brings me to the second type of thank you, when you are grateful for someone’s time. If someone watches your kids or pets, send them a thank you. It’s a lot of work and if you show you’re grateful they might be more inclined to help in the future.

What about the professional setting? If you’ve had a job interview it’s important to thank everyone for their time. Try to get the emails and correct spelling of the people who interviewed you; this could help set you apart from other equally qualified candidates. I’m not saying it will get you the job, but it’s a great way to set a good impression and put your name out there one more time. If you’re applying for a position and it will be a few days before they call anyone for a second interview, go one step further and also sent a snail-mail thank you.

I’d like to start by thanking YOU, my readers. I may not have the most fascinating things to say, but you take the time to read my posts. I only hope you’re taking away something from my posts, learning something new or are entertained by my thoughts.

Who can you thank?

Leave a Reply

