Burlap Bag

Thanks to Pinterest I have rediscovered my passion for sewing, and crafting in general. I’ve decided to better track some of my crafting I would post the various projects here. I’m not going to start with my first project (I’ll back fill those as I get around to it), lets start with this weekends project.

Burlap Bag. I saw a post on Facebook about Dunn Bros Coffee having burlap bags so I started to think of different craft ideas and picked a few up. I wanted to start with a simple bag because I haven’t sewn with burlap before. A few things I learned:

1. The burlap bags were really wrinkly, Ironing them was a chore but a necessity. If there is ink on the burlap iron the back. I found that letting the iron get hot worked the best, this was a challenge to me as I’m so impatient that I normally give it a 5 second head start. Once the Iron was hot enough I would also iron very slowly while also applying pressure.

2. I found 1/2 inch was about the right size for folding over the edges. This was a challenge for some parts because the text was so close I didn’t really have that option. The extra fold over allowed for a cleaner edge.

3. I’m thinking that the burlap would need a stabilizer fabric. My purse has a seam showing on the inside (I prefer my work to look a little more “finished”.

Overall I think it turned out pretty good. Here it is!

20121111-144524.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie Martin Cliffe
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 10:48:30

    Awesome! I’m inspired 🙂

    Reply

  2. LubbyGirl
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 22:56:13

    I bought burlap a couple of years ago to try a bag, and still haven’t done it. Yours looks really cute.

    Reply

    • amycelliott
      Jun 02, 2014 @ 19:59:24

      Thank you! It was a pretty easy project and I’ve used it a lot. When/if you get around to making your bag I would love to see it.

      Reply

      • LubbyGirl
        Jun 02, 2014 @ 22:38:43

        I hope that won’t be another two years! But it will be at least a month away. What type of interfacing did you use? I’m thinking I’ll have to use something kind of stiff to give it some shape, but I’m not sure yet.

Leave a Reply

