Tree Towel Holder

So I haven’t posted anything in a while, so I guess it’s time for one of my back log posts. I have started several projects, and have several more that can’t be posted until after Christmas. So, time to post about a little painting I did in the kids bathroom.

With how the room is set up there really isn’t a good place for towel racks. On Pinterest I found someone had painted a tree and put hooks for towels, It looked like it would be perfect in the kids bathroom. I used painters tape to outline the base of the tree, then I outlined the branches. Once it looked good to me I cut out the tape that was in the way.

20121209-163826.jpg
One of the branches looked like it would be too long so I cut a zig-zag in the painters tape to make the branch look broken. When painting I used about 2 coats of paint. Once dry I put the hooks in randomly, but making sure that there was room in between for the towels to hang.

On the one I saw on Pinterest I saw leaves painted on as well in the same brown. I really didn’t like how it looked so I decided to not put any leaves on it. Instead I’ve decided that each season I’ll let the kids make the leaves. For spring we will make flowers, for summer we will have green leaves, then for fall we will make colorful leaves.

20121209-164455.jpg

Here’s how it looks with the towels & hooks.

20121209-164753.jpg

The hooks we bought were at Home Depot for less than a dollar each and the brown paint was left over trim from another part of our house. It was actually pretty easy to do. Before painting I would recommend holding the hooks up to make sure they fit within the branches and where you want them. The hooks look better if they fit within the painted area as they blend in nicely.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. site
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 14:58:01

    Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe that this web site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

    Reply

  2. read more
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 14:29:22

    I quite like reading through a post that can make people think. Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

    Reply

  3. wow gold
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 11:39:40

    I love it when folks come together and share thoughts. Great blog, keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

