Quick Toddlers Purse

Most of our old kids clothing gets passed down, but every now and then some of the clothing gets a little too worn out. If the material is still in decent shape a new sewing project is born! A pair of overalls with snaps that no longer stayed snapped is just asking to become a quick purse as a last minute Christmas gift. One thing to note, as I sewed this project I did not use the basic stitch, I chose to use a box looking stitch to help reinforce all seams, ends, etc.

20121223-200937.jpg

First step is to take it apart. The overall part I use a stitch remover for, the rest I just cut. On the outer seams of the front I used a stitch remover to help reduce the layers of jean material I end up sewing through.

20121223-201121.jpg

Notice that the back has nothing on it, so I decided to take the design from the top and sew it to what will be the back of the purse.

20121223-201217.jpg

Next, sew the two overall pieces together.

20121223-201309.jpg

Then I sewed the front and back of the purse together. Once I was done I trimmed any extra fabric, and turned right side out.

20121223-201409.jpg

I really liked the button holes, so in order to keep that as part of the purse I decided to sew the pink bow with the button holes as the top of the purse. Before going too far, I laid out how I wanted it to look and pined the strap and top pink bow section to the front. Be careful not to pin to the back of the purse.

20121223-201702.jpg

I started by sewing the strap to the front of the purse. I adjusted my sewing machine and made sure I was only sewing on the front. I sewed the two sides and bottom on both ends of the strap because I thought it would help ensure that it would be sturdy.

20121223-201940.jpg

Once that was done, I sewed the top pink bow section. I decided to sew a rectangle around the bow. Then because the back didn’t have anything on the top I folded over and reinforced the top seam. I did not do anything to keep the purse closed, depending on how it ends up getting used I might sew on a piece or two of velcro. Here is the finished product!

20121223-202338.jpg

20121223-202345.jpg

This is my first attempt at taking a piece of clothing (and thick jean material!), it’s nothing too special but I think it turned out great!4

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. GLgzM
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 06:17:06

    196869 546122Your talent is really appreciated!! Thank you. You saved me a lot of frustration. I switched from Joomla to Drupal to the WordPress platform and Ive fully embraced WordPress. Its so much easier and easier to tweak. Anyway, thanks again. Awesome domain! 857802

    Reply

  2. advice
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 20:45:15

    629871 796585I like your writing style truly loving this website . 689827

    Reply

Leave a Reply

