Toddler Dress from Mens Shirt without Collar

A month ago I went to my parents and they were going to give away more dress shirts so I grabbed a few to make more little girl dresses from. This time I decided to try a different style that doesn’t have a collar, for a detailed refresher check out the post.

20130928-195605.jpg

I started with this shirt, and took the collar and arms off with a stitch remover.

20130928-200517.jpg

I followed my previous instructions for the most part. Before I pinned the bottom part on I fixed the collar and I also folded and ironed the bottom part of the top.

20130928-200659.jpg

The shirt I used was a bit larger than the first one so when I tried it on my little girl I realized I had to make a slight adjustment. I sewed in 2-3 inches at the bottom of the arm hole.

20130928-201131.jpg

While I like how this turned out, I thought the collar was a bit low. Luckily I was in the middle of making a second one! This time I decided to take 2 1/2 – 3 inches off the top. I measured and pinned.

20130928-201751.jpg

Then I turned it over and pinned along those lines just where the front part was, and sewed ONLY where there was fabric on both sides. After sewing I cut straight across.

20130928-203612.jpg

Then I ironed it flat and sewed a straight line. That’s it!

20130928-203834.jpg

Both dresses turned out great! With folding and ironing the bottom of the top the dresses didn’t need the ribbon. The only thing I could have done better was take in a little more around the arm hole because the dresses were a little big around the waist.

20130928-204424.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Heavenly | Makeover: Herrskjortor och t-shirtar i förvandling
  2. Trackback: Mens Shirt Upcycle | Creative Ideas
  3. Karen Morgan
    Mar 15, 2017 @ 18:47:08

    Best I’ve seen. How did you measure arm holes? How did you make your little darling stand still long enough? My granddaughter is 2 1/2 and never stops.

    Reply

    • Amy Elliott
      Mar 16, 2017 @ 19:16:02

      My little ones never stood still either, but my littler girl always loves to try on new clothing so I was able to get a quick fit. If it’s just not working you can always use a tank top or shirt and try to use that to help gage the arm holes.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: DIY Transformations Of Men's Shirts To Cute Dresses
  5. Trackback: 10+ Creative Ways To Repurpose Men’s Shirt Into Little Girl’s Dress - Chakpak Bawa

Leave a Reply

