Microwave Bowl Potholders

I love finding projects on Pinterest! Every now and then I come across a truly awesome idea that I get really excited about. This is one of those projects, I pinned it several months ago but finally had a chance to squeeze it in. I had enough extra material to make two of the Microwave Bowl Potholders.

Here is the link: http://syzygyofme.blogspot.com/2012/06/microwave-bowl-potholder-and-tutorial.html

The tutorial has great pictures and walks through the process really well. I used the 10 inch squares, I cut the fabric squares and batting slightly larger. I find when I do even the simple quilting it’s nice to have extra material to square it off. Then I sewed the material to batting for all the pieces corner to corner. Then I ironed each piece and trimmed to 10 inch squares.

IMG_3803.JPG

IMG_3804.JPG

Then I used pins to Mark the 1 inch and 2 1/4 inch for two sides at a time, then drew the line for sewing.

IMG_3805.JPG

After I sewed those two sides, I pinned and drew the lines for the last two sides. (Remember, the link I posted has more details)

IMG_3806.JPG

IMG_3807.JPG

Not shown I trimmed the parts I just sewed, sewed the two parts together, and turned it right side out. Then I ironed the seams.

IMG_3808.JPG

IMG_3809.JPG

I sewed around the edge and that was it! It took 1-2 hours to make the two, so it was a nice and easy project! I put two different size bowls in it to test it out, a 10 1/2 inch and an 8 1/2 inch bowl. It fit great for both!

IMG_3813.JPG

IMG_3812.JPG

IMG_3811.JPG

IMG_3810.JPG

Leave a Reply

