Bean bags

A friend of mine asked about making bean bags, so when my youngest was invited to her first non-family birthday party I thought some homemade bean bags was in order. 

What you need:

  1. About a fat Quarter of fabric
  2. Rice, beans, or something to fell the bags with
  3. Thread to match the fabric (some hand stitching was in order)
  4. Funnel or paper to make a funnel

I made three sizes because I wasn’t sure what was the best size. I cut 6 inch squares, 4 1/2 inch squares, and 3 inch squares. The 4 1/2 seamed to be the Perferct size. 

Start by cutting your squares. I found the smaller sizes cutting the 3 inch squares was best so I could get the pattern to fit the best. For the larger sizes I cut a rectangle 6×12 and 4 1/2×9. 

Put the pieces inside out and stitch around, leaving about an inch. Then turn the pieces inside out and if necessary use a chopstick to push the corners out. Normally this is where I would iron, but I didn’t think that was necessary for this project.  Then I used a funnel to fill with rice. I tried to sew it closed using the machine, although I liked my bags a bit full. For all the bags shown below I used a total of about 2.5 bags. Hand stitch and you are good to go!

 

I had fun warping this gift, no tape necessary!  My kids liked the bean bags so much that I made them their own set, and I’ll be making another Thomas batch for a friend.   

  

Leave a Reply

