Lion Costume

For my son’s Halloween Costume he wanted to be a Lion.  I couldn’t find any shirts/pants combo that would work so I started with the costume base found in this post.

To make the costume base look more like a lion I started by wrapping some dark brown yarn around my hand to sew to the feet and arm holes.  After I finished that I cut the ends of the yarn so the loops were gone.

Next I worked on the tale.  I started by taking some brown, yellow, and orange yarn to make a longer puff.  I taped the base of the puff so no strands were in the way.  I took a long rectangle 3 or 4 inches wide and folded it in half.  I sewed from one long end towards the other, before getting too close to the other I put the puff inside with a little of the edge sticking out the short end and finished sewing around.  When I got to the short end I sewed across 2 or 4 times to make sure I sewed the puff in nice and tight.  After the tail is finished, sew it onto the back of the costume.

Lion Costume 04Lion Costume 05

All that was left was to make the wig.  This is what took the majority of the time and 1-2 bunches of yarn.  I crochet a basic hat and added a loop for the beard.

Lion Costume 06.JPG

Next, make several short puffs wrapping about 10-20 times with brown, orange, and yellow.  I decided to do mostly brown with some yellow/orange.  After making a LOT of these, I wised up and found a Tupperware that was somewhat thin and long enough to make a few puffs at a time; the pink yarn shows an example of this (I didn’t wise up until I made it to the second costume).  You will need to make a log of these.

After I had a large pile I started to attach using the strings that I tied the puffs together with, I found a crochet hook helped a lot!  I started by placing them in the front around the face and placed them 1-2 inches apart.  After I placed a few rows I looked to fill in as needed.  Once both pieces were put together, it’s hard to resist!  He got a LOT of complements on his costume!Lion Costume 08Lion Costume 07

I thought it was SO cute; I had to borrow the wig for my work’s costume party!Lion Costume

Leave a Reply

