My Little Pony Costume

My youngest wanted to be a My Little Pony (Pinkie Pie), and by the time I got to her costume there wasn’t a lot of time and I had no inspiration (thus it looks more like a Muppet).My Little Poney Costume

You can find Pink everywhere!  She had pink pants that would fit well, so I found a fluffy pink skirt and mostly plain pink shirt (although the shades weren’t right according to little miss).

According to my little miss, the most important part that I couldn’t forget (she reminded me about a million times), the CUTIE mark!  With the little resources and time I had, I picked up some white fabric, a printed copy of the cutie mark, fabric stabilizer, and sharpies.  I traced the cutie mark on the stabilizer, ironed to white fabric, and used the sharpies to outline and color in the cutie mark.  I found some plastic out of the recycle bin and cut it down to size and poked too holes for the pin and inserted it.  I than glued the fabric to the plastic and trimmed once it was dry.

The wig and tail were all that were left.  I started by crocheting a basic pink hat, than I made some short and long puffs and attached to the wig.  For the short puffs I used a Tupperware to make two at a time, and a top to a shoe box to make two long ones at a time.  Looking back, I should have attached like a Mohawk, it would have looked more “pony like”.

For the tail I made one very large puff tying close to one end with a very long two pieces of yarn.  I than took the two pieces of yarn and wrapped around the end to cover up the short end, it looked more like a whip.  I used a crochet hook to pull a strip of fabric through the end of the tail, than sewed it onto the elastic to a pair of old pants.  I’m trying something new; you should see a slideshow with images of how I made the tail.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mommermom
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 20:03:00

    This is very clever in your details are wonderful.

    Reply

  2. Jeri Atkin
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 08:31:31

    Just a super costume, talented Mother.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

