Dog Treats! Yum!

This isn’t a “craft” post, but it was a huge kitchen success my oldest and I had.  When my oldest was off school one day we decided to make some cookies.  As we made the cookies our dog just kept looking at us with those puppy dog eyes hoping for a taste of something yummy, so we added onto our cooking day and decided to make some dog treats.

I know this post is lacking pitchers, but I wanted to spend some quality time with my little man, and the link below has lots to make up for it.

Our dog can be a little picky when it comes to treats, so I figured worst case my son and I could have some fun cooking.

We decided to try this Homemade Peanut Butter Dog Treats recipe.  I was excited it had pumpkin as one of the 4 ingredients (Yes, only 4!) because I have a freezer full of pumpkin!  I took the equivalent of 1 can of pumpkin and used that to make a double recipe.  I also added at least twice the peanut butter suggested (I thought it tasted a little bland).

I cooked the dog treats 25-30 minutes, and when I placed them on the pan I let them touch so I could get as many pans cooked as possible.  We have larger pans and cooked about 4 large pans worth.

I re-rolled the dough until I couldn’t fit a single piece, than I just cooked the last chunk.

These treats were not only dog approved, but also kid approved!  They really do smell good, my son asks for one all the time!  We will defiantly be making many more batches, I’ve never seen my pup more excited about a treat.

After they cooled I placed them in snack size zip lock bags.  I keep kept two bags out and froze the rest; once we are almost done with one bag I grab another.  I’m not sure what the shelf life is, so I figured the freezer would be the best place.

IMG_3925

Leave a Reply

