How to make a Potato Bag

The bowl potholders were such a great addition to my kitchen (and office), I decided to try and make a potato bag.  I’ve made a few adjustments from the first one, so as I make more I will use the below steps to get the perfect potato bag!

You can make them any size; in fact, I suggest making a few different sizes!  I use a smaller one at work for just me and larger ones at home for the family.

Before we start, let’s talk about fabric.  Fabric should be 100% cotton, so should the thread.  You also need 100% cotton batting.  You can pick any pattern you want for the outside.  If you want you can use the same pattern on the inside, but I like to pick a natural color that is not died.

How to get the measurements

If you want a potato bag that is 6 ½ inches wide by 9 ½ tall all you need to do is the following:

Width: To get 6 ½ inches add 1 inch for the seam, cut the piece 7 ½ inches

Height: to get the final bag of 9 ½ tall, take 9 ½ (Front) + 9 ½ (Back) + 2 (Top Flap) = 21 inches add ½ inch for the seam to cut a 21 ½ inches.

Final piece should be 7 ½ inches by 21 ½ inches.

Instructions

(1) Cut your fabric: For each potato bag cut one outside piece (My Colored Fabric), one inside piece (My White Fabric), and one piece of batting.

(2) Lay your two pieces of fabric on top of each other with the outside pattern facing inside.  Your pieces will eventually be turned inside out, so make sure you put the pattern pieces facing each other.  Then place the batting on the top of the two pieces of fabric.  The image below shows the inside out fabric and layers; you will want to stack them on top of each other.


(3) Pin or clip the pieces together once you have them lined up.  I typically have the batting a bit larger, so I will flip it over after pinning three sides and trim the batting so all three layers are exact.  I then pin or clip the side I trimmed and remove one side at a time to trim.


(4) Sew around each piece of fabric leaving a spot open to turn the piece inside out.  I typically do this on one of the short sides.


(5) In the gap you left open, separate the top and bottom fabric and turn the piece inside out.  I like to use a chopstick to press out the corners.


(6) Iron along the three sides, and for the gap iron the pieces so you can easily sew along it to sew up the gap.  I like to iron one side, flip it over and iron the other.  I inspect the gap and make sure that there is enough folded over to avoid not sewing the pieces together nicely.

(7) Sew along both short sides.  Only sew along the short sides!


(8) Place the fabric with the fabric you want on the outside facing up.  For me, I place the white fabric down and pattern up.  Fold over the top piece about two inches.


(9) Take the bottom piece and fold it up to the top of the folded over piece.  If your confused, look at the second image closely


(10) Pin the top section that has three layers


(11) When sewing, start on the side without the clip, when you get to the other edge (the side with three layers), turn it around and sew back to where you started.  I like the second stitch to help reinforce the opening edge.


(12) Turn it right side out and your done!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Healthy Lunches Prep – Beautify Mom

Leave a Reply

